Bosnia and Herzegovina is the state and internationally recognized on April 6, 1992 when officially ceased to be part of the former Yugoslavia. After the signing of the Dayton Agreement, has become a country with two entities: the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Republika Srpska. Since 2000 has been established the Brcko District of Bosnia and Herzegovina as a separate administrative unit. Municipality is the smallest administrative unit in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Bosnia and Herzegovina has 143 municipalities – 79 municipalities are in the Federation of B&H and 64 are in the Republika Srpska. The city of Sarajevo is divided into four municipalities while the city of Istocno Sarajevo includes six municipalities. Also, Bosnia and Herzegovina has 13 cities: Banja Luka, Bihac, Bijeljina, Doboj, Istocno Sarajevo, Mostar, Prijedor, Sarajevo, Siroki Brijeg, Trebinje, Tuzla, Zenica and Zvornik.

The Brcko District in northeastern Bosnia and Herzegovina is a neutral, self – governing administrative unit, under the sovereignty of Bosnia and Herzegovina. It is formally part of both entities of Bosnia and Herzegovina: the Republic Srpska and the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina. It was officially established on March 8, 2000 after arbitration process, which was provided by the Dayton Agreement. The seat of the district is the city of Brcko. The Brcko District covers an area of 493 sq km.

The Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina is one of two entities of Bosnia and Herzegovina and occupies an area of 26,110 sq km (51% of the territory of Bosnia and Herzegovina). It is administratively divided into 10 federal units – cantons, namely: Una – Sana Canton, Posavina Canton, Tuzla Canton, Zenica – Doboj Canton, Bosnian – Podrinje Canton, Central Bosnia Canton, Herzegovina – Neretva Canton, West Herzegovina Canton, Sarajevo Canton and Canton 10.

The Republika Srpska is one of the two entities of Bosnia and Herzegovina and covers an area of 24,811 sq km (49% of the territory of Bosnia and Herzegovina). The territory is divided into 6 regions: Prijedor Region, Banja Luka Region, Doboj Region, Bijeljina Region, Istocno Sarajevo Region and Trebinje Region. Banja Luka Region has two subregions: Gradiska Subregion and Mrkonjic Grad Subregion. Bijeljina Region includes also Zvornik Subregion while Istocno Sarajevo Region includes Foca Subregion.